Clotting factors – Mnemonic

Clotting factors: 

  • The clotting factors are a group of chemicals in the blood which is responsible for the formation of blood clot.
  • Clotting factors are usually inactive but once there is an injury to the wall of the blood vessel, they get activated.
  • The function of clotting factors is to trigger the formation of a blood clot and stabilize it for as long as necessary.
  • Clotting factors are therefore known as procoagulants.

MNEMONIC for Clotting Factors:

Freshers Party Tonight! Come Let’s Sing & Also Call Seniors Please Have Fun.

Factor I – Fibrinogen; common pathway; converted to fibrin.

Factor II – Prothrombin; common pathway; converted to thrombin that converts fibrinogen to fibrin.

Factor III – Tissue factor (TF) or thromboplastin; extrinsic pathway.


Factor IV – Calcium ions (Ca2+); always present, needed for coagulation.


Factor V – Labile factor, Proaccelerin; common pathway.

Factor VI – not used

Factor VII – Stable factor, Proconvertin; both extrinsic & intrinsic pathway.

Factor VIII Antihaemophilic factor (AHF); intrinsic pathway: deficiency leads to hemophilia A.

Factor IXChristmas factor, Plasma thromboplastin component (PTC); intrinsic pathway; deficiency leads to hemophilia B.

Factor X – Stuart-Prower factor; common pathway.

Factor XIPlasma thromboplastin antecedent (PTA); intrinsic pathway; deficiency leads to hemophilia C.

Factor XII – Hageman factor; intrinsic pathway; activates plasmin.

Factor XIII – Fibrin stabilizing factor (FSF); common pathway; cross-links fibrin.

Factor VIII & IX are sex-linked characters, others are autosomal.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.